December 9, 2017


Although women's hockey has never been sanctioned by the national body, three conferences that have participated in other sports at nationals have.  Of the three Canadian women in the Hockey Hall of Fame, two played in the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) and one coached in the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC).

Danielle Goyette, a member of the class of 2017, coached the University of Calgary Dinos in the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference from 2007 to 2009.  In 2008-09, Goyette guided the 2008-09 Dinos to a conference championship and received the ACAC Coach of the Year Award.

Geraldine Heaney, a member of the 2013 class, was named an OCAA championship tournament all star and a conference all star with the Seneca Scouts in 1986-87. Heaney led the conference champions with 24 assists in the regular season.

Angela James, a member of the 2010 class, was honored as an OCAA championship tournament most valuable player on two occasions and a tournament all star once in three seasons with the Seneca College Scouts from 1982 through 1985. In addition to winning three conference titles, James also led the conference in scoring during the 1983-84 and 1984-85 campaigns.

Goyette, Heaney, and James are also members of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) Hall of Fame.

More Articles

Support the site. via the
& affiliate link above. No charge to you.
© 2023 Brian Stein. All rights reserved.