October 12, 2017


One of three conferences to sanction both men's and women's hockey, the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association is celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2017.

Over 14 seasons of women's hockey from 1973-74 through 1986-87, the Seneca College Scouts won 10 of 14 provincial titles including five in a row from 1976 to 1980.

Over 37 seasons of men's hockey from 1967-68 through 2003-04, nine post secondary institutions won conference championships. The St. Clair College Saints of Windsor won a record 10 provincial titles.

Eleven post-secondary institutions represented the province in the 23 men's hockey national championships held between 1975 and 2001. The Humber Hawks of Etobicoke hold the provincial mark for most national championship appearances - seven. Seneca College of Toronto, who competed at nationals as both the Sting and the Braves, had six podium finishes at nationals matching a provincial mark set by Humber.

Ontario collected 26 medals at nationals -- two gold, 10 silver, and 14 bronze. The 1976-77 St. Clair College Saints and the 1996-97 Cambrian College Golden Shield brought home gold medals from nationals. The 2001 silver medals were later vacated by the Conestoga College Condors who voluntary disclosed that they dressed an ineligible player at nationals.

More Articles

Support the site. via the
& affiliate link above. No charge to you.
© 2023 Brian Stein. All rights reserved.