Please feel free to contact us with additional information, updates, and story ideas.

The traditions set by the @acacmens and @acacwomens feeds, ACAC Hockey Weekly, ACAC Hockey Online and the ACAC Hockey Information Guides continue ...


July 1, 2024


Forty years ago, the defending CCAA champions were ranked number one heading into the 1984 CCAA National Hockey Championship in front of their hometown fans. While the voters favored Les Lauréats du Cegep St-Hyacinthe in the polls, the schedulers did no favours for those looking to end their reign.

In the eight team event which featured teams from seven provinces, the Lauréats were grouped with teams ranked seventh through ninth nationally while the teams ranked second through fourth nationally were on the other side of the draw.

On one side, number one ranked St-Hyacinthe defeated number seven ranked Cariboo College 12-2 while number eight ranked University College of Cape Breton outscored number nine ranked Red River Community College 11-6 in the opening contests. The Lauréats then advanced to the championship final with an 8-2 victory over the Capers.

On the other side, number two ranked Northern Alberta Institute of Technology downed number four ranked Seneca College 6-1 while number three ranked Séminaire de St-Georges routed unranked Kelsey Institute Amaruks 17-4. The Condors edged the Ooks 3-2 to punch their ticket to the championship final.

The Lauréats finished four points ahead of the Condors in the 44 game RSEQ regular season. In the CCAA championship final, St-Hyacinthe topped St-Georges 8-3. The Condors would later gain revenge by winning the RSEQ title over the Lauréats.

St. Hyacinthe is the only team from Quebec to repeat in CCAA hockey history.

More Articles


Accurate standings and timely scores in the regular season and post season for both men's and women's hockey are updated here first ...


Support the site. via the
& affiliate link above. No charge to you.
© 2024 Brian Stein. All rights reserved.