Women's Edition Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Produced in co-operation with the hockey coaches and teams of the ACAC since 2000

A Brief History ...

Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference Champions
Prior to the 2000-01 season, women's hockey was an exhibition sport in the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference.
Season Team Coach
2015-16 Red Deer College Queens Kelly Coulter
2014-15 NAIT Ooks Deanna Iwanicka
2013-14 NAIT Ooks Deanna Iwanicka
2012-13 NAIT Ooks Deanna Iwanicka
2011-12 Mount Royal University Cougars Scott Rivett
2010-11 SAIT Polytechnic Trojans Terry Larson
2009-10 Mount Royal University Cougars Scott Rivett
2008-09 University of Calgary Dinos Danielle Goyette
2007-08 MacEwan College Griffins David Triska, Doug Borys
2006-07 SAIT Polytechnic Trojans Scott Rivett
2005-06 SAIT Polytechnic Trojans Scott Rivett
2004-05 Mount Royal College Cougars Tom Molloy
2003-04 Mount Royal College Cougars Tom Molloy
2002-03 Mount Royal College Cougars Shelley Coolidge, Shelley Fried
2001-02 Red Deer College Queens Barb Lofstrand
2000-01 Red Deer College Queens Steve Dunn, Barb Lofstrand
1999-2000 Mount Royal College Cougars Chris Dawe

For the 2015-16 campaign, fuve Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) member colleges are participating in the 16th season of ACAC women's hockey.

The predecessor to the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference, the Western Inter-College Conference (WICC) was formed in 1964 with five charter members.  The conference was formed with a mandate to regulate, coordinate, and promote activities in athletics and the fine arts.

During the WICC's initial season in the academic year of 1964-65, men's hockey was designated an exhibition sport.  Men's hockey received official sanctioning for the 1965-66 season.

In 1969, the fine arts program was eliminated and the name of the Western Inter-Collegiate Conference was changed to the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC).

The success of the 4 West Championships, which introduced interprovincial competition between British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba in 1971, led to the formation of the Canadian Colleges Athletic Association (CCAA) in 1973.

The Canadian Colleges Athletic Association (CCAA) was formally established to be the national governing body for men's and women's college sport in Canada.  The first CCAA national hockey championships occurred in March of 1975.

After a season as an exhibition sport, women's hockey became an officially sanctioned sport in the ACAC for the 2000-01 campaign.

Grant MacEwan Griffins NAIT Ooks Olds Broncos Red Deer Queens SAIT Trojans
Top ▲